Home / General / State Govt Declares May 17-18 Additional Public Holidays

State Govt Declares May 17-18 Additional Public Holidays

KUCHING: The state government declared May 17-18 as additional public holidays for Sarawak.

In a statement yesterday, the Chief Minister’s Office said the declaration came under Section 5 of the Public Holidays Ordinance.

Therefore, yesterday and today (May 11) are normal working days.

An Education Ministry statement said two Saturdays � July 14 and July 28 � would be used as school replacement days for the May 17-18 public holidays in Sarawak.

Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Dr Ali Hamsa had earlier announced yesterday and today as additional public holidays in conjunction with the 14th general election.

However, for Sabah and Sarawak, he said the state governments must declare additional public holidays according to their respective Public Holidays Ordinance.

Prior to polling day, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad had as Pakatan Harapan (PH) chairman declared May 10-11 would be public holidays should PH take over Putrajaya.

Source: Sarawak Government

Check Also

Terrorist acts in Sri Lanka not reflective of Islam – Saifuddin

PUTRAJAYA, Malaysia has strongly condemned the Easter bombings in Sri Lanka, which Daesh (Islamic State) has claimed responsibility and have killed more than 320 people.Foreign Minister Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah in a statement today urged the Sri Lankan...