Home / tinyurl.com


European Union – EEAS (European External Action Service) | Visa

The Schengen Agreement came into effect on 26 March 1995 to create a passport free zone. Currently, it comprises of 22 EU countries (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden) and 3 non-EU countries (Iceland, Norway, Switzerland).

Malaysian citizens do not require a visa when travelling to one of the Schengen countries for business or tourism reasons. The stay in the Schengen States may not exceed 90 days within a 6-month period. Malaysian visitors will need to present a Malaysian passport (valid for 90-days past intended date of departure), proof of sufficient funds and a return airline ticket upon arrival at the first point of entry in the Schengen States.

If you are a citizen of a country which does need a visa to enter the Schengen States, or you are a Malaysian citizen intending to stay longer than three months, or wish to travel to an EU member state which is not a Schengen State (Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom), please contact the respective embassies to apply for a visa before travelling.

The Visa Information System (VIS) is being implemented in all Schengen States' consulates in Malaysia from 14 November 2013. Under the VIS, third country nationals who require a visa to enter the Schengen Area, will also need to submit their biometric data (fingerprints) during their first application.

Read More »